Guava Lime Bars

Posted on

I saw this recipe on Pinterest and it looked super yummy. Addicted to that by the way. Back to the point.

I’m in Brasil, and while my grocery store does carry lemons, I buy limes as they are cheaper.  I also didn’t have strawberries on hand, even though they’ve finally in season and so cheap enough to buy. I only had a packet of frozen guava…and yes I said package. You don’t buy your juice in little tin concentrate cans. You buy it in little plastic baggies, and then mix it with water and server.  Normally you don’t add sugar, as there is a a little thing of sugar or liquid fake sugar at the table for people to mix it themselves.

So here is my Brasil twist on lemon bars.

Guava Lime Bars
Adapted from Baking Bites

Crust
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt

Filling
1 cup fresh lime juice (about 4 Tahiti limes)
2-3 tsp lime zest
1/2 cup pureed guava (1 large frozen bag)
1 1/4 cups sugar (If you like your bars sweeter, I’d up the amount as these are tart!)
4 large eggs
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking pan.

Begin by making the crust.  In a large bowl, cream together sugar and butter, until smooth and fluffy. Working at a low speed, gradually beat in flour and salt until mixture is crumbly. Pour into prepared pan and press into an even layer. Bake for about 17 minutes, until set at the edges.

While the crust bakes, prepare the filling.  In a blender, combine lime juice, lime zest, guava puree, sugar and eggs and process until smooth. Add in flour, baking powder and salt, then pulse until smooth.

Gently pour the filling over the hot crust when it has finished baking. Return pan to oven and bake for 26-30 minutes, until the filling is set (There will be a light colored “crust” on top from the sugar in the custard – nothing to worry about).  Then gently dust with powdered sugar.

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

4 responses »

  1. Yum! Not sure if I can pull these off, but I’m going to try!

    Reply
  2. Wow, these look yummy! My husband isn’t a big guava fan, but I bet the lime balances out the sweetness of the guava nicely.

    Reply

Leave a comment