RSS Feed

Unusual fruits of Brazil

Posted on

I shop at Bom Fruit for the cheap fruit and veggies, and really like the prices and variety.  They consistently have lemons, and American avocados as we like to refer to them. The ones that are not all sweet and gigantic.  And the prices are decent too, actually they’re really great.  They’re comparable to the CEASA sometimes.  The other thing I love is they get a lot of the random fruit that I’ve never seen before, and I haven’t encountered at the feira.

Today I bought KinKan and Abiu.  My husband hates when I buy things I have never seen before and am curious about.  But hey, how often do you get to eat exotic fruits.

KinKan is just kumquats, but they were round. I kind of thought they were kumquats, but they were pretty big for their size.  That and I love buying tiny sized fruits to feed to my son.  And he loves eating them.

So Abiu, turns out it’s a fruit that you’ll only find down here.  The flesh is sweet like creamed caramel and vanilla.  Crazy right?!  If you squeeze a little lime juice on it, it helps to bring out the flavor.  Not a ton of meat inside, but it’s sweet and yummy.  Not yummy enough to buy again but an interesting find in Sao Paulo.

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

Leave a Reply

