RSS Feed

The transition

SO I’m not dead.  And I haven’t given up yet on my blog. I’m sure I will eventually, being that I’m no longer in Brazil.

from The Load Star UK

Oh but don’t worry, I haven’t abandoned Brazil completely.  See I can’t the country is still holding my belongings hostage.  You know how when you move to Brazil there is always some “reason” why customs is behind and it takes 3 months to get your shipment.  Well we figured since we were air shipping, it would take 2 weeks max to get all of our belongings.  I’m still waiting, because there is a customs strike in Brazil, so all of my precious belongings (KitchenAid, Vitamix, all of my pots and pans, art work from Brazil) are sitting in a crate somewhere.  We’ve stopped getting updates from the moving company, so I guess one day it will just arrive— maybe 6 months from now??  I think I feel worse for all the expats who thought they’d buy their year + supply of America.. sorry guys! At least I can hit up the local Costco while I wait.

I’ve been busy.  Between coming off of maternity leave, and then moving back to the US, trying to get our nanny a Visa, and then well just trying to find a home I’ve been under water.  The rental market here in the San Francisco area is crazy crazy tight.  We found a place though, and I have to tell you, even though I leave in a very nice suburban neighborhood, where everyone knows your name and waves at you while you drive by, I couldn’t sleep the first night.

Where was my gate? Where was the security of the guard sitting below.  I was on the ground, and anyone could easily climb into any window.  It was unnerving to be soo, so unprotected.  My nanny when she arrived was amazed at how quiet and clean everything is, it just felt odd to her.

Nanny Observations:

  1. Is the (heater) hole on the bathroom floor for throwing water down when cleaning the bathroom?
  2. Did you really just wash a load of laundry and dry it in an hour?? (Halle freakin lujah!!)
  3. Why don’t we have Oreos in Brazil?

Oh and can I just say I just brought myself a Mint, and I wish I had that little thing in Brazil. It quietly cleans all of our wood floors wonderfully.

 

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

20 responses »

  1. Oh my word! What a fun gadget! I have never heard of those. Thanks for my new ‘Christmas List’.🙂 haha. I’m glad you guys made it back safely. Hope your stuff makes it back…soon. How are you cooking without pans and a Kitchen Aid? Good thing your nanny asked about the vent in the floor. 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes and it scrubs the floors too. It’s super nice, and as new mommy (Congrats hon!!!) you’ll love it. I bought a wok and it’s my fry pan and my pot pan, it’s pretty handy. And the kitchenaid has been replaced by Toll House pre cut just pop in the oven cookies— shhhh🙂

      Reply
  2. LOL made my day. LOVE the Nanny Observations – I could totally see them dumping buckets and buckets of water down the heating vents! That would be strange to have to explain to the landlord..😉 Glad you guys are somewhat settled in!😉

    Reply
  3. KEEP THE NANNY STORIES COMING PLEASE…. THIS IS GREAT!

    Reply
  4. and btw, in brooklyn, NY we don’t have these heating vents in my pre-war apartment building… its def not a standardized American thing

    Reply
    • But standardized Brazil is definitely holes for water drains in all bathrooms– which just always seemed super odd to me.

      Reply
      • Odd indeed. So in your opinion are these holes advantageous in many ways?

        Looking forward to more nanny adjustment stories… must be great to observe things from her perspective.

        i was in Brazil for a few weeks 2 years ago and as you could see, still hooked.
        chau

      • Thanks for the prompt~ I had forgot to his post my last blog. The holes are advantageous, as you can literally just dump buckets of water and squeegee it down the drain. No more mopping and then waiting for the tile to dry. Somewhere as humid as Brasil where mold is an issue, cleaning well and with clorox makes a lot of sense. IT was super nice when the washing machine busted and I opened it and water flooded out to the tile floor– then I just pushed it all down the drain, not worrying about a ton of towels.

      • I agree… thanks for the info!

  5. What! No Oreos in Brazil? What happened! We had Oreos back in the 90’s!! Well, it was probably not popular and they quit making them…😦
    I totally miss the drains in kitchen floors and bathrooms! How can you people clean a house properly!!!! No washing and rinsing with lot’s of water? What! Now that is pretty weird!!! Different perspectives…😉

    Reply
  6. What suburb of San Fran are you in? I love the Bay Area and have actually been spending way too much time in Oakland with my move to No. Cal.

    Reply
    • East Bay — Concord/Pleasant Hill area, just over the hill. Welcome to NorCal! It’s soo clean up here😉

      Reply
      • I LOVE that area! I lived there for almost 11 years, so I know it well! I definitely know folks in your Stake and probably know at least one family in your ward! Enjoy!

  7. Sounds like a lot and readjusting is kinda shocking. I think it will be interesting what you remember and miss about brazil in the future too.

    Reply
  8. Expats looking for oreos in Brazil should just look for “negresco” by Nestlé… exactly the same thing, but with a different name…

    Reply
    • oh my dear friend those are not Oreos… they are a substitute, but they are most definitely not Oreos.

      Reply
      • Ok, but I doubt the nanny had ever tried negresco in Brazil… For the average person (like me) they will taste exactly the same. Wikipedia even says that Nestlé sells some Oreo’s products in Canada “under license”, so I’m not really sure if it’s a substitute or “exactly the same thing” with a new name that Brazilians can pronunciate more easily. The thing I really miss though is the Hershey’s Milk Shake “cookies n cream”. That one I’ve never seen here.

  9. oh she had, in fact she just bought some up here at a Mexican Mercado- strawberry ones. She says there is some brand in Northern Brazil that she likes better– the cookies is sweeter and it’s very vanilla flavored. cookies n cream anything is divine… and I think you’re right I haven’t seen that ever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

