RSS Feed

The Albert Einstein experience

Posted on

So I’m behind on so much…new kid and all.  So a quick final having a baby in Brasil post.

It turns out you really do need to bring your own clothing to the hospital. When the nurses came in the next am, they asked me where my clothing was for the day… there was no gown (not that I would want to stay in the gown as it was completely open in the back!). They then showered me. Yeah, they walked me to the shower, then sat there and instructed me on how to shower, as well as held the shower head. When they did finally give me control of it, they sat and watched me sit (wasn’t allowed to stand) and shower. After giving birth, my sense of modesty usually goes out the window, so I really could have cared less at this point.

My first meal was an interesting one. Split pea soup, brussel sprouts and steak. Seriously, in the US, that would be considered nasty…the meat was much better than I got in the US hopsitals though. Overall, for hospital food, the meat was not bad. It was definitely Brasilian though, an interesting mixes of food though, like green grape sauce over chicken, or almond crusted salmon with applesauce… but still much more edible than I had in the US. They also brought in morning and night tea and crackers.

I had every intent of never letting my son leave my sight after the initial 2 hours “monitoring,” but it turns out that the hospital is MUCH more strict on controls, and every shift change your kid goes back to the nursery, so they can account for the kids. This was a MAJOR pain around feedings, as I had to basically try and force feed a sleeping newborn, as they are there for about 2 hours. Also, my son was completely gagging/turning purple on amniotic fluid, and keep throwing it up, so they refused to let me keep him at night, and would bring him to feed every 3 hours. They pumped his stomach twice. The second time seemed to take. Then there was the circumcision, so then again they wanted him to be watched in the nursery for a bit. Then the next day they decided he was a bit yellow and needed to take a light bath for 24 hours, so on my birthday they took him all day and night, and I would nurse him in the nursery every 3 hours. I never though I would have been okay with it, but I was. As he really does just want to sleep, so just slept calmly in the light bath, and my other son was able to come on Saturday and just spend the day with me and get mommy time at the hospital. Also, my husband got a good night’s sleep, as I had to go to the nursery all night to nurse.

One thing that I have come to really REALLY appreciate about Brasil’s hospital experience is every nurse was trained on breastfeeding. First breastfeed in the room a nurse was there helping me breastfeed. And they were knowledgeable… unlike nurses in the US, who all seemed kind of inept. Each feeding a nurse would stand by me and help to make sure I knew what I was doing.. manhandling the goods if necessary. With my first son I had to visits by the “lactitions” once at 9am … and they were NOT helpful, and actually pissed me off. For my first kid, I ended up using a shield for 3 months, as I couldn’t ever get him to nurse without it.  Also, despite the help, my son lost about 11% of his birth weight. When my other son lost 7% the US freaked out and told me I had to start using formula immediately. This time, the pediatricians said they were worried, but said to wait till my milk came in, and see my pediatrician as soon as I got home, to check to see if the weight came back.

As you can see their help has paid off, what a chunk.

Another thing that I thought was funny was that EVERYTHING had a barcode on it. My kid came in the room with a bar code on his butt, his hat, and each of his booties. It was kind of funny to watch them scan him like produce repeatedly throughout our stay.

Either way, I definitely think Brasil’s hospital is a bit tight on security, but I can understand why it happens.

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

One response »

  1. wow, quite the chub. So cute, congrats. They sound really strict about everything, I had to lock my stuff up but barcoding is pretty out there.

    Luca is 2 and half months and almost 13 pounds. People here keep saying that his is too fat. Especially my in laws, I have asked my doctor and just about every other doctor in general if there is any way a baby breast feeding/ formula feeding can be too fat.

    I really liked my meal as I was discharged early, I only had one. I informed them that I was veggie and they gave me a menu to select from, I wasn’t in the mood to eat but it was super good compared to hospital food in the US. Hospital food in the US is so gross.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

