RSS Feed

Receita: Coca Cola Bolo

Posted on

So this is a Southern Recipe, pinned on my pinterest feed that I just had to try. Photos via the link.  All I have are the AFTER photos.

I’m surprised this cake isn’t already here in Brazil, considering they lovey gooey cakes, and they love chocolate, and they love Coca Cola.  You would think it would already be here right? But no it’s not. Our baba thinks I’m the coolest American around right now, because well it’s chocolate and Coca Cola cake, but I also let her take down some for the other baba’s … they all thought she snuck it out of the house and were worried for here. HAHA they all think she’s like the worst baba around it’s hilarious (all my fault of course).  She wants to know if I’m just super cool or if all Americans are as laid back as I am.  There’s not a whole lot of interaction between the maids/babas here and the ladies of the homes in a personal way.  See because I’m pretty much useless in Portuguese I spend most of my day talking to the people at the grocery store, or the feira, or the babas because A. I’m home all day and it’s not like their mom’s ever descend to play with the kids B. I think I probably sound like an uneducated dolt and C. Unlike most Brazilian women, I’m from Hawaii and tend to take a pretty laid back attitude toward how I get ready most days… so people probably think I’m the hired help as it is.. I live in Havaianas.

Preheat oven to 350 F (~180 C), and grease a a 9×13 (or so) pan.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1tsp baking powder (fermento em pó)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (canela em pó)

In a saucepan over medium high heat stir this up good until it boils:

More Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter (a little over 200 g, I’m too lazy to get it exact as the sticks here are 200g)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup coca-cola
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (1/2 Tbsp vinegar with a half cup a milk let sit for 5 minutes)

Now take off heat and add that to the flour mix & whisk until combined.

Then add:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (brought back from my last trip to the US, I won’t use the fake stuff here)

Mix it some more, and pour into the pan.

Bake it for about 30 minutes.

When cake is nearly done make the glaze by mixing in saucepan:

  • 1/2 cup butter (just over 100 grams)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup coca cola
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar

Add butter, cocoa, and coca cola. Once the butter is melted, everything is mixed, and it begins to boil, remove and slowly stir in confectioners’ sugar until nice and smooth.

Once cake is done and out of oven (toothpick should come out clean, even if top still looks glassy), pour this warm glaze right over the top of the hot cake!

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

Leave a Reply

