RSS Feed

The Best Cookies Ever

Posted on

Did you know that May 15th was Chocolate Chip Cookie day??? The husband is mad at me because I was sick again… I get sick a lot … maybe I should drink more water so I stop getting kidney stones.  Brazil’s hot climate is not conducive to my poor water drinking abilities. But I digress (I do that A LOT).   I didn’t make these cookies yesterday, but I made them a week ago for our anniversary.

These are my friend Jessica’s cookies.  They are addictive, I should warn you now.  They have replaced both of my other “favorite” chocolate chip cookie recipes.  See chocolate chip cookies, are like Brigadero in Brazil.. separate blog post on that when I get around to finally trying my hand at making it.  The normal recipe is half white chocolate and half semi-sweet chocolate.  Normally, I’m not a fan of white chocolate, but it adds a wonderful sweet vanilla flavor to the cookies, and I STRONGLY recommend it.  My husband however is a fan of pure milk chocolate chips, and so as this latest batch was an anniversary gift to him.. his very own batch of cookies, made just the way he likes them, my recipe below is made with milk chocolate.  I have made notes on my “Brasil adaptions” to the original recipe.

Jessica’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 sticks of butter (I block of 200 grams of butter… yeah butter doesn’t come in sticks here)
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar (I mule it in, because I will only use C&H Sugar.. I’m from Hawaii after all!)
2 eggs
1 Tbsp. vanilla (I muled this into Brasil too, because it’s kind of expensive here)
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking soda  (It’s called Feremente em Po here)

3 cups flour (add more as needed so the dough is no longer sticky)

1/2 bag of white choc chips
1/2 bag of milk choco chips
(I substituted the above for one Garota Chocolate bar Ao Leite.  For about R$20 you can get a Kilogram of the stuff and chop it up into little chunks.  I used about 1/4 of the bar or 2 cups)
Cream together butter, and both sugars for a good 5-6 minutes, until the batter can hold peaks (kind of like when you make whipped cream).  Add the eggs and mix for another couple minutes.
Add vanilla and mix.  Combine salt, baking soda and flour and slowly add to the mixture.  After fully combined, add your choice of chocolate chips.
Unless you have a Kitchen Aid/Bosch mixer you will have to add the choc chips by hand.  My hand mixer gets tired after I add the flour!  I’ve found with this recipe that the real key is mixing each ingredient for several minutes.  They bake nicer when you take the time to do it.  Definitely worth it!
Bake at 350 degrees (180 C)  for 12 minutes.  I like to cook them on a piece of tin foil on my cookie sheet.  then you can just pull the sheet of cookies off onto your counter and scoop up the next batch. Enjoy!
If you decide to double the recipe it makes A LOT of cookies.  Also, if you double it, only use 3 eggs, not 4.  The recipe above is actually half of the original recipe, but it makes a more reasonable amount of cookies.
 
Ok so they look a little flat, that’s because I suck at baking, but trust me they are GREAT. Hubby just likes them almost raw.
Here’s a batch fully baked:
About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

4 responses »

  1. I baked choco chips cookies the other day because of your post.

    I used a Betty Crocker mix though because I didn’t feel like doing a lot of dishes. Yours look very delicious!!

    Reply
  2. ojeitobrasileiro

    That was my standard in the past, their cookie mix is cheaper than making it yourself, and Yuuummy….. too bad I didn’t bring down a bunch 😉

    Reply
  3. They might have gone a little flat because baking soda is bicarbonato de sódio, and fermente em pó is actually baking powder… Look for baking soda in the spice aisle, not around baking stuff. Baking powder technically has some baking soda in it, but about 1/4 of the volume, so you’d need to add quite a bit more to get the same leavening effect.

    Reply
    • Yeah, I always mix those two up!!! I made it again and updated the post with a photo of a “correct” batch. My hubby likes it with powder though, as he likes it less cake like and flat, so go fig.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

