RSS Feed

My first son’s first birthday

Posted on
My first son’s first birthday

We are losers with no friends.  Okay, we are work aholics with a 1 year old, it makes things hard when it comes to going out. So his first birthday wasn’t Brasilian style, maybe his second will be and I’ll fill you in on how crazy it was.  We did it very simple, and I’m somewhat ashamed, as in Hawaii you celebrate big just like in Brasil.  But don’t worry thanks to the power of the internet and youtube, you can all celebrate with us!

I decided that we should make a cake, but wanted it to be as low sugar as possible, as I didn’t want my kid to get the sugar sickness buzz afterwards.  He really loved the cake, and ate a ton of it while bouncing in his chair he loved it so much.  He smeared it across is face, but miraculously he didn’t chuck a bit of it on the floor.  And then after a thorough scrub down he went to bed, since he didn’t have any sugar rush, it was perfect.

Dad insisted he get something special for dinner as well, so he got to eat fried chicken and peas (this kid seriously loves the peas, they’re like candy to him).

For his birthday cake, I ended up making a double layer cake so we could have some and he could eat some later (it is his birthday after all!).  When making a cake you usually trim off a thing slice to make the cake flat.  I used that slice to make a  3 tier mini cake for the little guy.

Cake Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups agave syrup
  • 1 cup butter (used 200 grams)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon and 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 cup milk

My oven STARTS at 180 degrees.. so that’s what I HAD to cook it at, but the recipe states:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×9 inch pan or line a muffin pan with paper liners. In a medium bowl, cream together the agave syrup and butter. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine flour and baking powder, add to the creamed mixture and mix well. Finally stir in the milk until batter is smooth. Pour or spoon batter into the prepared pan.

Bake for 30 to 40 minutes in the preheated oven. For cupcakes, bake 20 to 25 minutes. Cake is done when it springs back to the touch.  I modified it from a white cake recipe found at All Recipes

CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

From Kiss My Bundt’s frosting recipe

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 4 ounces unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups powdered sugar (measured then sifted) — replaced with 2 tsp Stevia
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

With an electric mixer on medium speed, cream the cream cheese and butter until soft and completely smooth, at least two minutes. Turn the mixer speed to low and slowly add the powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time, making sure to scrape down any frosting stuck to the sides of the bowl. Add the vanilla extract.   Mix on medium speed until the frosting is smooth and fluffy.

** The frosting with Stevia passed the bowl taste test, but isn’t quite as sweet as the cake, so I probably would have added maybe 1 or 2 Tbsp of Agave too.  It’s just that Agave really is a fructose sugar, and a liquid.  Either way it wasn’t bad, just wasn’t exactly right on.

MANGO CURD FILLING

I took it from a blog about some chic making a wedding cake and of course adapted it.  She used a  Mango Curd Adapted from Bon Appetit, June 1998

Makes 1 to 1.5 cups

  • 1 15-ounce ripe mango, peeled, pitted, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/3 cup agave syrup
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice (1 lime)
  • Pinch of salt
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Puree mango, sugar, lime juice and salt in blender, scraping down sides of work bowl occasionally. Add yolks; puree 15 seconds longer. Strain through sieve set over large metal bowl (I used Haden mangos, which don’t have all the fiber so didn’t need to strain.. so it really depends on the type of mango you use).  Discard solids in sieve. Set metal bowl over saucepan of simmering water (do not allow bottom of bowl to touch water); whisk puree until thickened,  about 10 minutes (felt like 20-30 to me personally). Remove from over water. Whisk in butter 1 piece at a time. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

You can leave out the lime juice if your kid is sensitive or you like it sweet and not sour (Atonia complained it was too tart but we loved it!).  My kid also doesn’t have any issues with limes, and loves em.

The cake was VERY Dense.  And because the agave syrup changed the white cake into a bit more yellow hue, it worked with the mango flavoring/color scheme.

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

5 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday, R!!! You look so happy and I hope you enjoyed your peas.

    I’m going to try the cake recipe sans mango curd (not a fan of the mangos, maybe because I haven’t had a good one?).

    Reply
  2. Don’t feel bad. For my daughter’s first birthday we had a dinner party for our friends. (There was one other kid there, but they both fell asleep.) We didn’t even have a cake. I’m certain it will be a topic in her therapy sessions when she is an adult 🙂
    Congratulations on the peas! I can’t get my daughter to eat a single vegetable unless I hide it in something like a cheese sauce.

    Reply
  3. And WHERE do you buy Agave Nectar?? I’ve been having people bring it to me from the U.S.??

    Reply
    • ojeitobrasileiro

      I brought mine in as I bought a GIANT container at WholeFoods on my trip up in March. But I’ve seen small ones for about the same price as my GIANT container at Pao de Acucar. Sometimes with the sugars, and sometimes in with the “organic” section.

      Reply
  4. Que lindo ele comendo bolo! Toda sorte e amor que houver nessa vida para você e sua familia *-*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

