RSS Feed

Quicky Post

Posted on

Did you know that in Brazil oranges are green? Yep… that’s right GREEN.  There are, it seems, various varieties, but they’re all still green. Some are sour and some are sweet (doce.. important word when shopping for fruit).  And when I say sweet, I mean take that citrus fruit and rub it on your open wound and not flinch sweet. Yummmy…. I wasn’t that big of an orange fan until I moved here.  Now the guy at the feira throws in free limes for me.

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

3 responses »

  1. Hi ! I’m Brazilian and live in the US.
    The Brazilian oranges are great and there are many varieties,but I need to correct you regarding the color.There is only one kind of orange that is a little green in color: the “laranja lima”.The rest should be orange or yellowish in color.If not,they are not ripe.I know this because,besides growing up in Brazil, my husband worked in the “feira” since he was 14 years old.So,if you think the oranges are sweet when they are ripe yet,imagine what it would taste like ripe….

    Reply
    • ojeitobrasileiro

      Even an “orange” Brasilian orange wouldn’t be considered orange when compared to the navel oranges we are used to in the US 🙂

      Reply
  2. This isn’t related to your green oranges. I saw Morgan Spurlock’s latest film “POM Wonderful Presents: The Greatest Movie Ever Sold” and it included a few minutes about how outdoor advertising was banned in Sao Paulo. The city had become the anti-Times Square. Anyhow, it made me think of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

