RSS Feed

The butcher shop

Posted on

Frank gets sent to I shop at a butcher shop now. I feel all quaint, and I tell myself the meat is much fresher this way. I have picked the busiest butcher shop in my neighborhood (there are three), Tennessee.  The nice thing about a butcher is there isn’t just chicken “frango,” but there is frango, frango breast, frango for stroganoff (already cut up), frango petite, frango petiter for instance.   I’ve been buying the thinest strips of frango for pan frying, or recently oven roasting.  Back in the US I was a pretty lazy cook. Out comes the pizza stone, crank the oven to 450, slap a frozen chicken breast on it, throw a random bit of spices and kick back and wait for it to cook.  Bag of mixed frozen veggies sometimes got put on the chicken during the last 5, and I called that a meal. 🙂

Now, I feel guilty about that, like it’s not o jeito Brasileiro, so I try and cook better.  So here’s my quick and easy “fancy chicken” recipe.

I bought frozen spinach (it comes in cubes!), from Walmart, but have also done this with fresh spinach (it’s fully grown with the flowers and fuzz, none of that pre-washed baby spinach for me here!).

I also use requeijão cremosa, it’s like cream cheese, but tastes more cheesy (like those soft cow cheese cubes you can buy).  But you could just use softened cream cheese I suppose.

The bread crumbs are just the left over fresh bread bits I buy everyday at the bakeries here that goes stale(due to the humidity it goes stale rather quickly), so I bake and crumble them.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken

Ingredients

  • 3 chicken breasts, sliced/pounded thin
  • 1-2 cups of spinach (depends on preference)
  • 2-4 Tbsp of requeijão cremosa
  • 1/2 cup of fresh parmesan
  • 1 clove of minced garlic
  • Bread crumbs
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Salt and pepper the chicken.  Place spinach in a large glass bowl, and heat in the microwave for 3 minutes, stirring every minute or so, or until wilted (drain water if using the frozen kind). Stir in requeijão cremosa, Parmesan cheese, and garlic. Lay the chicken breasts out on a clean surface, and spoon some of the spinach mixture onto each one.  (Sometimes I lay down slices of roasted red pepper strips as well to add color and more flavor). Roll up chicken to enclose the spinach, place seam sided down, sprinkle with some Parmesan and bread crumbs.  Arrange in a shallow baking dish. You can secure with toothpicks if you like, but I’ve never found it necessary, as I’m not a perfectionist.  Bake uncovered for 35 minutes in the preheated oven, then increase heat to 500 degrees F (260 degrees C), or use the oven’s broiler to cook for an additional 5 to 10 minutes to brown the top.

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

5 responses »

  1. This looks great! I have yet to make it the butchers (probably because I still dont have an oven) but I always love looking at the variety! Cheers to you for trying Feijoada too!!

    Reply
  2. Just wait for my next post, about how I screwed up the oven purchase!

    We don’t eat out as much as you though, so you’ve probably sampled MUCH more delicious food than I.

    Reply
  3. Wow! Sounds delicious. Can wait to make it (i.e. can’t wait to ask my husband to make it…)

    Reply
  4. If mom and dad knew you were eating their meat with all the hormones they would flip. Someone told me once the chickens hormones in south america give you a nice rack. If only I lived there when I was growing up 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

