RSS Feed

And we are off! ~~~~

Posted on

Ironically, I was more anxious/excited for our trip to Japan last year than for a move to Brasil!  I think it was because I knew Japan was 2 weeks, and there was the nervousness of forgetting or missing something. Knowing I am leaving for 18 months means I will have plenty of time to soak in all that Brasil has to offer.  My calmness may have something to do with the fact that we have had 6 months to plan the trip.  Granted there are a few things that I wasn’t able to get/do before we left, and I still have to run out to Joann Fabric to buy some Velcro (future post on why later), but in the end whatever I don’t get done, I don’t get done and life won’t end.

These are the massive beasts of luggage I am taking.  All Ogio, so plenty sturdy.  And all right around the 70lb limit.  Let me just tell you, standing on a scale, holding a 70lb Ogio bag is not my idea of fun.  But I wanted to make sure the scale was accurate, as the last thing I want to do in the cold winter of Utah is to be sitting at curbside checkin strategically repacking things! edit-turns out international flights do not allow curbside check-in!

I actually could have got away with 2 bags, but filled that large black one with ~400 diapers I picked up at Sam’s Club.  If you have the room, why not right?!  And yes, I am just nutty enough to measure each bag to make sure they were not too “big”

I am not taking his car seat on the plane, as I will be carrying my bub in the Ergo Baby Performance carrier. It is supposed to be cooler, so we will see.  On the trip to Hawaii when he was 3 months old, he slept soundly in the Moby wrap the whole flight, so I’m hoping for great results on the 10 hour Brasil flight today too.  I’ve heard several people tell me to “Benadryl” my child, but I just couldn’t do that to the little guy.  In fact, my biggest worry is not how he will behave on the plane, but what I am going to do with all of the luggage once I get off the plane and need to go through customs!!!

Wish me Luck!

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

3 responses »

  1. Good luck Kinohi! You guys will do great and we can’t wait to see a post from your new home! XOXO

    Reply
  2. I am US citizen living in Japan moving to Brazil (I hope). I just netsurfed into here 😉
    Great blog!

    Reply
    • Not sure where you are thinking of moving, but Sao Paulo is full of Japanese food due to Liberdade. As you are a US guy you might not care as much as I do about having Japanese food close at hand. In fact there are two sushi restaurants within a block of my hotel.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

