RSS Feed

Cell Phones to unlock or not unlock

So this weekend the great cell phone hunt began. We reached out to those we knew on AT&T and T-Mobile to see if they had an old phone we could buy/have. Turns out most people  (unlike us) junk their old phones and move on.
We browsed the deals at Best Buy for cell phones, T-Mobile stores, and AT&T stores. Best Buy had the best deals if you signed up for a phone. The woman at Best Buy tried to convince us to sign a plan, then cancel when we moved out of the country.  I called a T-Mobile store and they told me that if I had been with T-Mobile for a few months and then cancelled, they’d probably waive the $200 cancel fee.  But then it turns out that the monthly plans BestBuy offers are more than the monthly plans T-Mobile offered, and most of the plans were $50+.  Plus we would ONLY need it for a month.
When we did the math , it was cheaper to buy a phone outright on ebay or our new found favorite shopping site www.ksl.com
After playing with various phones we decided on the Samsung Galaxy S Vibrant. When we finally have the phones in hand, I will definitely be posting.

The Vibrant

Pretty isn’t she? It comes with Avatar installed, and as it is a Samsung phone is very easy to unlock. The manufacturer is actually on board unlike Apple Phones. And yes, the family that is ever so against Apple even considered buying an unlocked Iphone. GASP! I know right?
On that note, I do have to admit we purchased several Apple products. The Ipad, the Ipod Touch and the new Macbook Air.  Everyone with kids tells us the Ipad is a must have.  My hubby needed a laptop as he has to turn his firm one in next week, and we figured this one would be sellable in Brazil when he gets sick of it eventually (he must have muttered I hate Apples at least 15 times while setting it up last night). And we just bought the touch because it was a good deal online at BestBuy.
As I am not going to Brazil until the new year we are holding out for all of the after Christmas deals before I buy my Apple products 🙂 Sadly I want an Ipad now too, and I just played with it for an hour.  But as the Samsung Tab has a camera on the front… and I hate Apple products, I may end up buying the Tab eventually
About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

2 responses »

  1. First: I just arrived Saturday in Brazil…!!

    Now, I own the Samsung Vibrant and have brought it with me to Brazil. Love, love, love the phone! I’m going to keep my T-Mobile account for maybe another 4 months and then call and cancel as I’m now officially out of the country. Shouldn’t be a problem, as I’ve been a loyal and always on-time paid customer. They shouldn’t charge me any cancellation fees, etc. Today, I just went to a cell provider here, “Oi” and got a new SIM chip and went on a monthly plan (with 3G data for the phone) similar to T-Mo. It cost more and it’s less minutes than my T-Mo plan, but it works out cheaper over time than using a pay-as-you-go plan here. Since I don’t have any credit established here yet, my wife signed us up. Not sure if you’ll run into any problems or not with that?

    If I were you, I’d get the Samsung Tab! Since you have the Vibrant, make the “family” complete. Everybody has an Ipad and in my opinion, it’s too large at 10″. The Tab seems to have hit the right size at 7″.

    Good luck!

    -Chris
    http://www.floridaguyinbrazil.com/

    Reply
    • Not sure what your account payment is but why keep it for 4 months? In the end at 40-50 a month it’s almost as much as the $200 cancellation fee? Also as you are a customer, you could probably cancel now and just show them you are in Brazil now no problems. We are Verizon people, so would have been kind of sketchy had we done it 🙂

      Husband got the Vibrant, and I actually just sent him out to pick up a Tab for me– we found it at a great deal! I didn’t even think about credit being an issue in Brazil. We are very much not Apple people, and with a kid I thought having a Tab would be perfect as it’s part phone and part toy for the kiddo.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

