RSS Feed

The Brazilian Way “O Jeito Brasiliero”

I asked my husband for a Brazilian/Portuguese word I could use for my blog title.  I figure with us living in Brazil for the next 18 months, I should capture everything I learn, experience, love and hate.  I’m just egocentric enough to think everyone cares.  Actually, the current expat blogs out there have made me excited for the move, and I know I’ll turn to them often as a resource to Brazil.  So, I wanted to add to the list of Brazilian stories and experience for others thinking about a move to Brazil.

So what exactly is O jeito Brasiliero

This nonconformity with illegitimate authority is probably an origin of one of Brazil’s most characteristic and original concepts, summarized in the word jeito . The word is practically untranslatable but refers to ways of “cutting red tape,” “bending the rules,” “looking the other way,” or an alternative “way out.” In its worst form, it amounts to corruption. At its best, it means finding pragmatic solutions to difficult problems without making waves.

The Brazilian Way

I think I will be finding a lot of pragmatic solutions over the next few months.

About scrubgrub

I'm just another soul on the internet, posting random thoughts into the ether, because well I love stumbling on other peoples random thoughts, so I figured why not add mine to the mix too. I'm also the mom to two very funny little boys, and how can you not share that with everyone?

4 responses »

  1. Welcome, and I’m glad you’re blogging about it! Reading others experiences of living in Brazil as a foreigner was, and is, a huge help to me. I’m not there just a the moment. I got back to the US two months ago but will be back in late January to spend half of each year there.

    Hope your experience is a good one, and if it’s not then you’ll have plenty to write about!

    Boa sorte e bem vindo!

    Reply
  2. Welcome to the “community”! I have 3 days to go until I fly out for Brazil. Today was my last day at work… was sort of a sad day for me because I really like my job and the people I work with. Oh well, must continue on with life…

    See you around!

    -Chris
    http://www.floridaguyinbrazil.com/

    Reply
    • How exciting. Hubby flies down on the 11th, and I won’t be flying down until the end of December…. good luck in Brazil!! How exciting for you.

      Reply
  3. Your title is why I checked your blog. Very witty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

